Longwood Honors Band Concert Is Jan. 6

Published 2:53 pm Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The 17th annual Longwood Honors Jazz Ensemble and the 21st annual Honors Concert Band performances will be held this Friday, Jan. 6, at 7:30 pm in Jarman Auditorium on the Longwood University campus. Over 100 outstanding musicians representing ten area high schools will combine to form these ensembles under the direction of Longwood University Department of Music faculty members Dr. Charles Kinzer and Dr. Gordon Ring.

Featured trumpet soloist with both groups will be Graham Breedlove from the Army Blues jazz ensemble, part of The United States Army Band, “Pershing's Own” in Washington, DC. Breedlove holds the Bachelor of Music degree from Louisiana State University and the Master of Music degree and Performer's Certificate from Indiana University. He has performed with headliners representing more than one hundred Grammy nominations including The Saturday Night Live Band, Ray Charles, Wynton Marsalis, Ramsey Lewis, Darius Rucker and Doc Severinsen. As a leader, Breedlove is a Summit Records recording artist. As a sideman, Breedlove has appeared on more than 100 recordings, including back-to-back Grammy winning CDs in 2004 and 2005.

The Honors Jazz Ensemble will perform works by Duke Ellington, Craig Skeffington, and Thad Jones including two works which will feature Graham Breedlove. In addition to La Virgen de la Macarena featuring Breedlove again, the Concert Band will also performs works by Ralph Vaughan Williams, Frank Erickson, John Mackey, and John Philip Sousa. A special feature will be Daydream, which will be guest conducted by its composer, Kevin Paul of Lynchburg.

Email newsletter signup

Participating schools and their directors include Appomattox County High School, Bryan Allgood; Central-Lunenburg High School, Maurice Ellis; Cumberland County High School, Nicholas Keicher; Fork Union Military Academy, Bruce Patterson; Fuqua School, Camille Rabon; Goochland County High School, Jay Sykes; Halifax County High School, Stephen Harmon; Nottoway County High School, Catherine Hite; Prince Edward County High School, Jeffrey Lazenby; and Randolph-Henry High School, Derek Ramsey.

Admission to the concert is free and the public is invited to hear these fine high school musicians.