Municipalities declare local emergencies

Published 3:24 pm Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Prince Edward County, the Town of Farmville and Buckingham County have all declared local emergencies as a result of the coronavirus.

Prince Edward County enacted its local emergency Monday afternoon. The Town of Farmville and Buckingham County declared emergencies Tuesday.

The declarations follow Governor Ralph Northam’s State Declaration of Emergency and President Trump’s National Emergency Declaration. A local declaration allows the local government to maximize preparedness and response efforts against COVID-19.

Email newsletter signup

The declarations allow local governments to request mutual aid from regional, state and other governmental entities. It does not guarantee funding but helps the county pursue aid from the state and federal government.

Each municipality encouraged residents to stay up to date by visiting the local government’s website for additional announcements and more information.