Schools staff win awards

Published 11:48 am Thursday, May 2, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Four staff members of Cumberland County Public Schools received awards at the 18th Annual Awards Banquet sponsored by the Southside Virginia Regional Technology Consortium (SVRTC) and the Longwood Institute for Teaching Through Technology and Innovative Practices (ITTIP). The awards ceremony was held on Thursday, March 14, at Longwood University. The awards ceremony is held each year to recognize those individuals who promote the mission of the SVRTC through their service to their school divisions. 

Christal Parker was awarded the Technology Teacher of the Year award for Cumberland. This award recognizes a teacher at each partner school who advances learning through integration of technology into the curriculum.

Charlie Motter received the Instructional Technology Support award for Cumberland. This award recognizes a staff member at each school division who advances the district’s technology environment through providing crucial instructional technology support for students and teachers in an enrichment setting.

Email newsletter signup

Ashley Postans, the CCES teacher and ITRT, received the Technology Support Award for the division. This award goes to someone who provides technology support for the network. 

The final award recipient was Dr. Chip Jones, Superintendent of Cumberland County Public Schools. He received the Division Leadership Award. This award is a competitive award and is given to one person throughout the entire SVRTC area who advances technology in the educational setting. 

All four staff members were recognized for their achievement by the Cumberland County School Board at the March 28 meeting of the Cumberland School Board.