Cumberland School Board members sworn in

Published 8:20 am Friday, December 22, 2023

Last week, recently-elected members of the Cumberland School Board participated in a joint swearing-in ceremony with the recently elected members of the Cumberland Board of Supervisors. Held on Tuesday, Dec. 12 at 6 p.m., members of the school board gathered at the Cumberland courthouse to take their oath. 

Members of the School Board included: 

• Ginger Sanderson, District 1, re-elected

Email newsletter signup

• Yvonne Earvin, District 2, newly-elected

• Latesha Anderson, District 3, re-elected

• Leigh McCrea, District 4, re-elected

• Everleane Randolph, District 5, re-elected

Yvonne Earvin is replacing member George Lee Dowdy, III, who had decided not to run for another term. He has served for the past 16 years as a member of District 2. A reception was held in his honor prior to the December School Board meeting. During the meeting, he was presented with a plaque recognizing his service to Cumberland County Public Schools.

Cumberland School Board

Dowdy was honored for his 16 years of service to the Cumberland County Public Schools with a reception and a plaque. Pictured are, from left, Everleane Randolph, Latesha Anderson, George Lee Dowdy III, Superintendent Dr. Chip Jones, Ginger Sanderson, and Leigh McCrea.