Weinberg, Pickren earn Touchdown Club of Richmond honors

Published 4:28 pm Wednesday, December 15, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Hampden-Sydney College fifth-year linebacker Brendan Weinberg has been selected as the State Small College Linebacker of the Year, and sophomore safety Will Pickren has been chosen as the State Small College Defensive Back of the Year, as announced by the Touchdown Club of Richmond. The small college division includes all NCAA Division II, III/NAIA/USCAA/NCCAA level football programs in Virginia.

Brendan Weinberg, a team captain, started all 10 games and had 118 total tackles, including 55 solo and 63 assisted, 15 tackles for loss (three sacks), two interceptions, two pass breakups and one blocked punt. He led the ODAC in tackles for loss and assisted tackles, while second in total tackles and tackles per game (11.8), tied for second in blocked punt/kick, third in solo tackles, and tied for eighth in interceptions. A three-time All-ODAC honoree, including First Team this fall and last spring, Brendan completed his outstanding H-SC career as the program’s all-time leader in tackles with 345 career tackles, including 180 solo and 165 assisted, 36.5 tackles for loss (seven sacks), six interceptions, 15 pass breakups, two forced fumbles, one fumble recovery and one blocked punt-starting 42 of 43 career games.

Will Pickren started nine of 10 games and had 106 total tackles, including 54 solo and 52 assisted, 5.5 tackles for loss, two interceptions and six pass breakups. He tied for second in the ODAC in pass breakups, while fourth in total tackles, tackles per game (10.6) and solo tackles, fifth in assisted tackles and tied for eighth in interceptions. Will is a two-time All-ODAC honoree, earning First Team honors this fall and last spring.

Email newsletter signup

Weinberg and Pickren, along with the other statewide winners, will be recognized during the broadcast of the Dudley and Lanier Awards presentation, scheduled for this Saturday, Dec. 11. Weinberg is a candidate for the Lanier Award that recognizes the commonwealth’s best small college football player.