4-H participants recognized

Published 8:06 am Thursday, May 23, 2019

Cumberland County Public Schools students have had a long history of participating in 4-H programs. The fourth grade 4-H club officers were recognized at the May meeting of the Cumberland School Board. The officers for each homeroom are Mr. Baldwin’s homeroom: Peyton Turner, President; Allahajah Harris, Vice President; Harland Patterson, Secretary; and Kionna Copeland, Reporter. Mrs. Burruss’ homeroom: Takiyah Hampton, President; Jayla Augustin, vice president; Serenity Kitt, Secretary; and Kiona Harris, Reporter. Mrs. Gilbert’s homeroom: Javion Tiller, President; Madilyn Jackson, Vice President; Brett Dalton, Secretary; and Makayla Bevins, Reporter. Mrs. Hughes’s homeroom: Diego Alvarez, President; LaNayah Gray, Vice President; Hunter Hodges, Secretary; and Karma Dudley, Reporter. Mrs. Kinney’s homeroom: Kamira Holman, President; Alana Johnson, Vice President, Jasyiah Baker, Secretary; and Makiya Hawkins, Reporter.

In addition the following students were recognized for their awards in the 4-H District Speech and Presentation contest: James Wenzel, for his presentation on whales in the Junior Division (Blue Ribbon); Alana Johnson, for her presentation on the coral reef in the Junior Division (Purple Ribbon); Haley Paschall, for her presentation on the Bermuda Triangle in the Junior Division (Blue Ribbon) and Peyton Turner, for her presentation on Girl Scouts in the Junior Division (Blue Ribbon).