230 men graduate

Published 11:01 am Friday, May 18, 2018

During a sunny Saturday morning on the lawn of Venable Hall at Hampden-Sydney College (H-SC), 230 men joined the ranks of the nation’s fifth-best alumni network as their graduation was formalized before a crowd of family, friends, faculty and staff.

A school press release continued by noting the commencement exercises were for the 243rd year of the college.

In addition to remarks from H-SC President Dr. Larry Stimpert, those assembled were addressed by the president of the American Enterprise Institute, Dr. Arthur C. Brooks, and the senior class valedictorian, Hayden J. Dougherty, a chemistry and economics double major, school officials cited in the release.

Email newsletter signup

They highlighted key aspects of the speeches, noting that Dougherty reminded his fellow brothers of the lessons they learned during their time at Hampden-Sydney.

“Hampden-Sydney men are to be held to the highest standard of honor, integrity and character,” he said. “Honor, integrity and character: three virtues that alone are important, but together create the essence of a man who is ready to face the world and all of its challenges.”

The release conveyed how Brooks encouraged the graduates to focus on elements in their control.

“Never forget this advice on your life happiness portfolio: faith, family, friends and work,” Brooks said. “Make a deposit each day and prepare to live your best life.”

President Stimpert was quoted as saying, “This diploma is a tangible symbol of the preparation you have received here to pursue your dreams, purpose and aspirations; to be a good man and a good citizen; and to lead and serve, with competence and honor, the families you will form, the organizations where you work, the communities you call home and our larger society.”

The college presented diplomas to 227 graduates at commencement, H-SC officials cited. Honorary degrees were also given to Brooks and the previous night’s baccalaureate speaker, Dr. Kenneth P. Ruscio, president emeritus of Washington and Lee University and president of the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges.

The release proceeded to list the several students, faculty, staff and friends of the college that received awards during the ceremony.

Senior Guilherme J. Guimaraes was this year’s recipient of the Gammon Cup, awarded to the student-athlete in the graduating class who has best served the college, officials stated. They added that Guimaraes, a recipient of the Davis Fellowship, served as a resident advisor and member of the Student Court. A member of Phi Beta Kappa and Omicron Delta Kappa, Guimaraes was a standout basketball player who served as team captain during his senior year.

The Anna Carrington Harrison Award, given to the student who shows the most constructive leadership in a school year, was awarded to senior Joshua M. Katowitz, the release highlighted. It continued by stating that Katowitz, a President’s Scholar, served as a resident advisor and Student Court chairman and was also a member of the basketball team.

Officials cited in the release that the Samuel S. Jones Phi Beta Kappa Award, which recognizes intellectual excellence as manifested in outstanding student research, was awarded to senior James D. Ingersoll for a paper entitled “Synaptic Plasticity in Neuroscience: A Tale of Good and Evil.”

The release continued by giving focus to the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Medallion, which honors students and friends of the college for character and service to Hampden-Sydney. Officials noted it was awarded to four individuals:

• Senior Steven A. Dvornick, a student senator and member of Omicron Delta Kappa

• Senior Samuel S. Murphy, a resident advisor, member of Omicron Delta Kappa and president of the student government

• Richard F. “Dickie” Cralle Jr., a 1965 H-SC graduate, former college trustee, generous benefactor and owner and president of Green Front Furniture in Farmville

• John W. “Bill” Kirk III, a 1972 H-SC graduate, a college trustee, generous benefactor and president and CEO of Associated Asphalt, Inc.

The Cabell Award is cited in the release as being given annually to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding classroom contribution to the education of Christian young men. Officials announced it was awarded to Elliott Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science Rebecca Jayne.

The release highlighted the Thomas Edward Crawley Award, mentioning that it is awarded to a professor “most distinguished for devoted service to the ideals of Hampden-Sydney and the education of her sons.” College officials said it was given to Senior Lecturer of Fine Arts Mary Prevo.

Senior Samuel S. Murphy, this year’s student body president, presented the Senior Class Award to Dr. Herb Sipe, the release stated. It added that senior Parker Smith, co-chairman of the Senior Campaign, presented an $8,002.50 check for the Class of 2018 Scholarship in honor of Dean Shawn White.

Closing the release, officials noted that three graduates were also commissioned as officers in the U.S. Army: Robert W. Holland Jr., Hunter Thomas Keiser and Thomas Lee Parks.