• 48°

Redbud Garden Club holds annual banquet

The Redbud Garden Club held its 54th Annual Banquet at the home of Geraldine and Billy Sanderson on Tuesday, April 25. Guests were Pat Oliver, Carolyn Higgins and Nancy Schaeffer.

Pictured are Community Service Award Winner Geraldine Sanderson, left, and arrangement and horticulture Award winner Janet Higgins.

According to a press release, Geraldine Sanderson presented Kate Shorter with the 2017 Member of the Year Award for her many contributions to the club. She was given a certificate and gift.

“Janet Higgins won both the arrangement award with 102 points and the horticulture award with 233 points and received a B&M Greenhouse gift certificate for her efforts,” officials said. “Liz Dunn, Dottie Fahrner, Janet Higgins and Sarah Schember exhibited all 12 months of the club year.”

The release cited that Joyce Thompson announced the community service award point winner was Sanderson with 149 points.

“Sanderson received a check for $10 from Benchmark Community Bank, (which) sponsors this award,” officials said in the release. “Some of the club members’ volunteer hours were given at church, school, the Randolph Community Center/Fire Department, Christmas Mother, community projects, gardening education and judging, blood donation, FACES, 4-H and visiting the sick and shut-in.”

According to the release, second vice president Janet Higgins, and first vice president Ann Ligon, presented a lovely garden ornament to Geraldine Sanderson as the club’s “thank you” for a job well done as president.

New officers installed were: president, Janet Higgins; first vice president, Geraldine Sanderson; second vice president, Joyce Thompson; recording secretary, Liz Dunn; corresponding secretary, Mary Hazlegrove; treasurer, Dottie Fahrner; handbook editor, Patsy Miessler.

Blue ribbons were awarded to Liz Dunn, Dottie Fahrner, Rebecca Giles, Mary Hazlegrove, Janet Higgins, Ann Ligon, Audrey Robinson, Geraldine Sanderson, Nancy Schaeffer, Kate Shorter, Jo Smith, Barbara Stimpson, Jean Taylor and Joyce Thompson for “Tiny Wonders,” a miniature arrangement. Patsy Miessler, Sarah Schember and Gail Thompson received red ribbons.