November Ballot Will Be Empty For Two Cumberland Races

Published 3:39 pm Monday, June 15, 2015

The filing deadline has passed to run for office in Cumberland County for the Nov. 3 election, and two voting districts won’t see a name on the ballot in races for Board of Supervisors and School Board.

That means the winners are expected to come from a pool of write-in candidates.

According to County Voter Registrar Marlene Watson, no one has filed to run for supervisor in District One and the school board seat in District Four. Currently, William F. “Bill” Osl Jr., who could not be reached for comment, represents District One on the board of supervisors. Osl was elected to the board in 2003.

Email newsletter signup

Watson, in her 22 years of working in the registrar’s office, says she’s never seen an empty ballot for a supervisor’s race.

George Reid, who’s served on the school board since 1993, currently represents District Four. For the majority of his time, he has served as chairman, he said.

“I consider those new schools one of our biggest accomplishments,” he said of the completion of the new elementary, middle and high schools.

Reid, who was elected by write-in votes in the last general election, said he would consider serving again if voters chose to write his name in again.

In the District Two supervisor’s race, incumbent Lloyd Banks, an Independent, is being challenged by Tim Kennell, an independent who previously served on the board. In District Three, incumbent W. Kevin Ingle, an independent, is running unopposed.

In District Four, incumbent David Meinhard, a Republican, is being challenged by independent candidate Bill Bruce. In District Five, incumbent independent candidate Parker H. Wheeler is running unopposed.

There’s no competition for races on the school board this year. Ginger M. Sanderson is seeking re-election in District One, incumbent G. Lee Dowdy III is seeking re-election in District Two, Eurika Trent-Tyree is seeking re-election in District Three and Christine M. Curry Ross is seeking re-election in District Five. All candidates are independents.

All five constitutional officers are seeking re-election and have no opposition. Darrell L. Hodges is running for sheriff, L.O. “Lee” Pfeiffer Jr. is running for treasurer, Julie A. Phillips is running for commissioner of revenue, Sarah A. “Kate” Spry is running for clerk of court and Democrat Patricia D. Scales is seeking to be re-elected as commonwealth’s attorney. All other candidates are running as independents.

The two independent incumbents are seeking re-election for Soil and Water Conservation District Directors are Terry Seal and M. Todd Smith.