Fuqua Upper School Holds Awards Assembly

Published 2:17 pm Thursday, June 25, 2015

FARMVILLE – Fuqua Upper School recently held its awards assembly recognizing students for their outstanding achievements.  The three rising seniors with the highest academic records each received a $1000 Anna McGovern Scholarship which will be applied to their 2015-2016 tuition.  This year’s recipients were David Hice, son of Col. and Mrs. Jeffrey Hice, of Farmville; Stone Tucker, son of Mr. and Mrs. Rocky Tucker, of Drakes Branch; and Thomas Watson, son of Mr. and Mrs. Brad Watson, of Farmville.

Other awards and recognitions are as follows: Randolph-Macon College Leadership Award-Noah Shepherd; Randolph College Book Award-Kendall Schmidt; Hollins Book Award-Jenna Armes; Roy B. Hargrove Jr. Memorial Scholarship-Stone Tucker; Cumberland Farm Bureau Scholarship-Mary Kate Smith; Southside Electric Cooperative Scholarship-Cali Foster; Prince Edward Ruritan Scholarship-Marin Angle; John Varner Memorial Scholarship-Noah Shepherd; Kenneth B. Worthy Masonic Educational Award-Katarina Gebauer; Virginia Grand Masonic Lodge Scholarship-Katarina Gebauer; DAR Good Citizen-Troy Howard; VA DAR Scholarships-Carl Benhoff and Katarina Gebauer; Community Service Recognitions (Friends of Fuqua) Robert Burns, Haley Cunningham, Nicholas Davis, Tori Dunn, Emily Jefferson, Chaundra Jones, Dylan Thompson, Lucy Wallace; (Silver Service Awards) Cali Foster, Mary Kate Smith, Lucy Wallace, Luke Wyatt; Arta Lockridge Nottingham Chappius Award-Jamie Carkenord; Daphne S. Mason English Award-Lucy Wallace; Quill & Scroll International Honorary Society for High School Journalists-New inductees: Sarah Jane French, Jewel Moore, Alexis Williams; Editor Gold pins: Anna Morrow, Katarina Gebauer, and Alexis Williams; Fred D. Young Award-Paavan Bonagiri; Donald Groseclose Award-Lydia Painter; Art Purchase Award-Brinley Thomas; Longwood Center for Visual Arts Awards-Arham Ali, Mallory Cooper, Tucker Estes, Jewel Moore, Abby Morrow, Naomi Painter, Hannah Palmore, Yurika Tada, Brinley Thomas, Ellie Vick, and Claire Watson; Outstanding Senior Band Award- Carl Benhoff; Trig-Star Awards-Cara Zhang (Winner) and Angela Hao (Runner Up); Model General Assembly Recognitions-Delegates: Hunter Gilliam, David Hice, Trent Jacobs, Noah Shepherd, Lauren Stimpson, Michael Thornton, Thomas Watson, Hampton White; Senators: Taylor Cunningham, Michael Johnson, Mary Kate Smith, Lucy Wallace, and Buck Wellman; Lieutenant Governor- Cali Foster 2015, Thomas Watson 2016; Virginia Boy’s State Delegates: David Hice, Noah Shepherd and Thomas Watson; Virginia Girl’s State Delegates: Taylor Frink and Abby Morrow; William & Mary Leadership Award-David Hice; Hugh O’Brian Recognition-Anna Cyrus; Model United Nations-Ellie Akhmetova, Arham Ali, Carl Benhoff, Andrew Cao, Taylor Cunningham, Tamar den Besten, Katarina Gebauer, David Hice, Cody Howard, Troy Howard, Michael Johnson, Mike Liu, Lydia Painter, Noah Shepherd, Mary Kate Smith, Lauren Stimpson, Michael Thornton, Stone Tucker, Ethan Watson, Thomas Watson, Buck Wellman, Peyton Wiecking, Terry Wu, Luke Wyatt, and Cara Zhang; Ronald Reagan Presidential Leadership Award-Troy Howard; Top of the Class 2015-Katarina Gebauer and Kayla Lehman; Robert A. & Nancy S. Smith Awards-Kendall Schmidt and Thomas Watson; R.C. Gilmer Sports Awards-Jonathan Kelly and Anna Cyrus; Al Smith Award-Trent Jacobs; Larry Maxey Good Sportsmanship Award-Walter “Bozo” Addleman; J. Boyd Bagby Scholarship-David Hice; Robert T. Redd Scholarship-Thomas Watson; SCA Scholarship-Micaila Coleman; Brandon T. Davis Athletic Scholarships-Mary Grace Amos and Noah Shepherd; Kenny & Jennifer Lewis Scholarship-Kendall Schmidt; President’s Awards for Academic Excellence-Danel Akhmetova, Carl Benhoff, Claire Drummond, Katarina Gebauer, Kayla Lehman, Zeliang Liu, Jewel Moore, Lydia Painter, Taylor Pickett, Mary Kate Smith, Dylan Thompson, Buck Wellman, Luke Wyatt, and Yiying Zhang; Ruth S. Murphy Scholarship-Troy Howard; Richard E. Swayne Scholarship-Brad Davis; Anna McGovern Scholarships-David Hice, Stone Tucker and Thomas Watson; Wall English Award-Katarina Gebauer; Taylor Social Studies Award-Luke Wyatt; Redd Science Award-Mary Kate Smith; Pearson Foreign Language Award-Kayla Lehman; Hargrove Fine Arts Award-Jewel Moore; Glenn Math Award-Cara Zhang; Cum Laude Inductees-Carl Benhoff, Taylor Pickett, Lucy Wallace and Alexis Williams; SCA Officers for 2015-2016-Thomas Watson– President; David Hice – Vice President; Brad Davis – Treasurer; Lauren Stimpson – Secretary

Email newsletter signup