Bryan Is Chairman

Published 2:38 pm Tuesday, January 14, 2014

BUCKINGHAM — District Two Supervisor Donnie Bryan has been elected chairman of the Buckingham County Board of Supervisors.

Bryan, who was nominated by District Five Supervisor Cassandra Stish, drew the support of District One Supervisor Monroe Snoddy, District Four Supervisor John Staton, Stish, and Bryan.

District Six Supervisor Joe N. Chambers Jr., District Three Supervisor E.A. “Bill” Talbert, and District Seven Supervisor Danny R. Allen voted in favor of the first nominee, Talbert.

Email newsletter signup

“I’m looking forward to a year where we can all work together and handle the County matters in a timely manner and in an efficient manner, to make things more enjoyable and more cost-effective for the residents of the county,” Chairman Bryan told The Herald during an interview following the supervisors’ meeting Monday night.

Snoddy, the former chairman of the board, was elected vice-chairman, and was nominated by Staton. Snoddy drew support from Stish, Bryan, Staton, and Snoddy, while Chambers, the first nominee for the position, received votes from Allen, Talbert, and Chambers.

Bryan and Snoddy will serve in their respective roles during the 2014 calendar year.

“Mr. Chairman, I’d like to say one thing. I appreciate the ones that voted for me, but I’m going to give you my full support,” remarked Talbert following the election of the two officers. “Let’s keep this board together so we can help everyone in the county.”

“Absolutely,” responded Bryan.

Board members voted to reappoint Supervisors Staton and Bryan to the County utilities committee and Supervisors Talbert and Bryan to the personnel committee. Bryan, as chairman, was appointed to the finance committee.