Winbush, Johnson On JRD Baseball First Team

Published 4:32 pm Thursday, May 24, 2012

Buckingham County High School junior outfielder Cam Johnson and Cumberland junior outfielder Bryant Winbush were named to the James River District First Team All-District in baseball in voting conducted by the league's coaches on Tuesday afternoon.
Goochland's Austin Goyne was named the Player of the Year, while Goochland's Wes Farkas was named the Coach of the Year.



Email newsletter signup

First Team

Pitcher: Austin Goyne, Goochland; Dillon Weaver, Amelia.

Catcher: Scott Pearce, Goochland.

First Base: Blake Hatcher, Central.

Second Base: Aaron Baker, Amelia; Cole Strake, Goochland.

Shortstop: Dante Eubanks, Randolph-Henry.

Third Base: Randy Walker, Randolph-Henry.

Outfield: Cam Johnson, Buckingham; Dequan Smith, Bluestone; Bryant Winbush, Cumberland.

Designated Hitter: Dakota Flippin, Amelia.

Utility: Michael Warren, Central.

Second Team

Pitcher: Randy Walker, Randolph-Henry; Chad Hudson, Randolph-Henry.

Catcher: Josh Tasker, Amelia.

First Base: Alex McDowell, Goochland.

Shortstop: Jesse Hickman, Buckingham.

Third Base: Hunter Glover, Cumberland.

Outfield: Anthony Wojno, Amelia; Jess McLaughlin, Goochland; Justin Smith, Buckingham.

Designated Hitter: Jackson Knott, Randolph-Henry.

Utility: Chad Hudson, Randolph-Henry.

Honorable Mention

Pitcher: Dustin Gunn, Nottoway; Dylan Davis, Bluestone; Tarian Ayers, Buckingham; Chase Brookman, Goochland.

Catcher: Drew Strickland, Randolph-Henry.

First Base: Chad Overby, Bluestone.

Shortstop: Tre Watson, Bluestone; Chase Brookman, Goochland.

Third Base: Forrest Witt, Goochland.

Outfield: Trace Nixon, Goochland.

Designated Hitter: Cody Herndon, Buckingham; Deion Mosley, Bluestone.

Utility: Josh Driver, Goochland; Dequan Smith, Bluestone.

Player of the Year: Austin Goyne, Goochland.

Coach of the Year:Wes Farkas, Goochland.