Correct Info On Gluten-Free Food

Published 4:12 pm Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Editor, The Herald:

Upon reading the article entitled “The Kitchen Diva”, by Angela Shelf Medearis, page 4B, The Farmville Herald, September 23, 2011, I noticed an error that is commonly made by some who wish to believe they are experts on the subject of gluten free food. In her article, Ms. Medearis implies that buckwheat is a food that contains gluten. In fact, buckwheat is a grass, and is gluten free. It has nothing to do with wheat.

I am writing to you for two reasons. Firstly, I need to have the correct information disseminated so that those people who read The Herald and who are gluten intolerant know the truth and may include this delicious and nutritious food in their diet. Secondly, I have no idea how to contact Ms. Medearis to make her aware of her error.

Email newsletter signup

Milt Weisman


(Celiac Sprue Association of the USA)

Resource Unit #3000


(The Farmville area gluten intolerance group meets at Centra Southside Community Hospital at 7 p.m. on the first Thursday evening of each month in the private dining room. The public is welcome to attend).