• 66°

Tigers announce football recruits

Hampden-Sydney College (H-SC) Football Head Coach Marty Favret has announced his incoming recruiting class that brings 57 newcomers to the program, including four from area high schools.

Marty Favret

An H-SC Athletics press release noted the overall class includes one transfer collegiate student-athlete and 56 first-year collegiate student-athletes from across Virginia, as well as North Carolina and South Carolina. They are set to join the Tigers beginning with the 2020 football campaign.

The area student-athletes include Nathan Brickhill and Garrett Hafley, from Buckingham County High School; Blake Barker, from Cumberland County High School; and Elijah Warner, from Fuqua School.

Hafley was a difference-maker on the line for the Knights, making the 2019 All-James River District First Team as a defensive lineman. Brickhill was a key presence in the secondary and made the all-district second team at defensive back. They helped the Knights complete their return to form last year, as the team finished 10-2, advancing as far as the regional semifinals.

Though the Dukes have struggled in recent years, Barker was a stalwart on the line during his high school career, helping facilitate the success in the trenches the program experienced.

Warner was a standout quarterback and defender for the Falcons, garnering all-state selections on defense, offense and special teams this past season, during which he led Fuqua to a 9-2 overall record. He helped lead the Falcons to berths in the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association Division III state championship game in 2017 and 2018.

Favret, who is the second-winningest coach in H-SC history with 131 victories in 20 seasons and a five-time Old Dominion Athletic Conference Coach of the Year, said in the release he feels he and his staff checked all the boxes with the class of 2024 — speed, size, playmakers and terrific student-athletes.

“There is no question that this influx of talent will help us right away,” he said in the release. “Kudos to my staff and the faculty/administrators that helped make this happen during this highly unusual recruiting season.”

The release included the complete list of incoming football recruits that is listed below. The list is alphabetical and includes players’ respective high schools.

• Joe Ambrosi, St. Anne’s-Belfield School

• Blake Barker, Cumberland County

• Griff Barlow, Middle Creek (North Carolina)

• Junior Barrera, Middle Creek (North Carolina)

• Braeden Bowling, Green Hope (North Carolina)

• Nathan Brickhill, Buckingham County

• Cam Chandler, T.L. Hanna (South Carolina)

• Dalton Collins, Clover Hill

• Jaron Concepcion, Deep Creek

• Kadari Cuffee, Grassfield

• Darien Davis, Jefferson Forest

• Jacob Elliott, Northside

• Teddy Forde, Northern Guilford (North Carolina)

• John Corey Fraser, Fork Union Military Academy

• Melik Frost, May River (South Carolina)

• T.J. Gates, Powhatan

• Kevin Gholson, Patrick Henry-Ashland

• Trey Gholson, Midlothian

• Nathaniel Gilbert, Lafayette

• Alex Green, Portsmouth Christian School

• Dorian Green, Magna Vista

• Garrett Hafley, Buckingham County

• David Haley, Maury

• Taylor Herrera, Rock Ridge

• Dylan Huggins, Liberty-Bealeton

• Jaylin Jones, Rustburg

• David Jorgensen, Eastern View

• Tobias Lafayette, Porter Gaud (South Carolina)

• George Langhammer, Patrick Henry-Roanoke

• Chase Larmon, Atlantic Shores Christian School

• Iceysis Lewis, Blue Ridge School

• Will Matejowsky, Cary (North Carolina)

• Braxton Mergenthal, Cedar Ridge (North Carolina)

• John Mill, Cosby

• T.J. Minter, Thomas Dale

• Amos Nickens, Rock Ridge

• Ryan North, Brookville

• Thomas O’Connor, West Point

• Will Pickren, Wando (South Carolina)

• Max Pietrykowski, Hampton

• Bobby Pinello, Salem

• Andrew Puccinelli, Benedictine College Prep (Wingate University)

• Jack Reno, Paul VI Catholic

• James-Ryan Salvi, Lord Botetourt

• Hayden Shinn, Hilton Head Christian Academy (South Carolina)

• Jason Southern, Eastern View

• Alex Spangler, Eastern View

• Jacob Stockton, Franklin County

• Tramell Thompson, Blue Ridge School

• Trevor Wade, Fluvanna County

• Ricky Walker, Oscar Smith

• Elijah Warner, Fuqua School

• Patrick Watson, Manchester

• Jamahdia Whitby, Jamestown

• Brice Wilson, Nelson County

• McKay Wilson, First Baptist (South Carolina)

• Justice Wright, Appomattox County