Letterpress wins Chamber Business of Year honor

Published 12:16 pm Friday, February 7, 2020

The Farmville Area Chamber of Commerce and the Farmville Jaycees came together to host the 2019 Awards Banquet honoring businesses and community members.

The ceremony, held Wednesday, Feb. 5, in the banquet room at the Farmville Municipal Golf Course, featured many local businesses, organizations and impactful citizens.

Awards handed out by the Farmville Area Chamber of Commerce were as follows:

Email newsletter signup

• Member of the Year Award: The Woodland

• Looking Our Best Award: Hotel Weyanoke

• Non-Profit of the Year Award: Piedmont Area Veterans Council

• New Business of the Year Award: North Street Press Club

• Business of the Year Award: Letterpress Communications

• Citizen of the Year Award: Jennifer Cox

• Lifetime Achievement Award: Jacquelyn Reid

At the end of the banquet, the Chamber announced the creation of the new Kenneth Copeland Leadership Farmville Scholarship. The scholarship will help two deserving applicants to take part in the Leadership Farmville program, sponsored by the Chamber, with the purpose of helping to establish the next generation of local leaders.

Eboni Lee, outgoing president of the Farmville Jaycees, took time during the night’s festivities to distribute awards to some of the organization’s members. The Farmville Jaycees New Member of the Year Award was presented to Ti-Erra Sims, and the Ray Poulston Jaycee of the Year Award was presented to Warren Reid.

Members of the community spent the evening exchanging stories, catching up and honoring those that have positively impacted the area.

“It was so great to be able to give these businesses the recognition that they deserve,” Farmville Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Joy Stump said. “The awards were a reflection of these people’s hard work and dedication to make our community the best that it can be.”