Dunnavant unseats Staton

Published 1:53 pm Thursday, November 5, 2015

Republican candidate E. Morgan Dunnavant unseated incumbent John N. Staton on Tuesday for the District Four seat on the Buckingham County Board of Supervisors.

Dunnavant received 283 votes to Staton’s 227. The Republican garnered 55 percent of the votes cast, while Staton received 44 percent.

Email newsletter signup

Dunnavant will be one of four new faces on the board in January. Independent Robert C. “Bobby” Jones, Republican D.R. “Don” Matthews Jr. and independent Harry Bryant Jr. — all newcomers — are set to join Dunnavant.

E. Morgan Dunnavant

E. Morgan Dunnavant

“I feel good that the winning percentage of voters felt confident in my message,” Dunnavant said, “and I’m going to do my best to deliver on my campaign promise of looking after our tax money frugally and always doing the due diligence and investigation before I decide to lend my vote to spending it.”

Dunnavant said that he would

pursue and take initiative on the revamping of the county’s contracting arrangements. “That is my area of expertise and that has been one of the primary things I campaigned on. …”

Jones wins by slim margin

Independent candidate Robert C. “Bobby” Jones won the District One open seat by only five votes, defeating independent Dennis H. Davis Jr.

Davis garnered 262 votes to Jones’ 267. Jones received 50 percent of the vote, while Davis received 49.06.

Robert C. "Bobby" Jones

Robert C. “Bobby” Jones

The open seat was left vacant by retiring longtime supervisor I. Monroe Snoddy.

Jones said the voter turnout was larger than he expected.

“I’m grateful and really am glad that I won, but I was surprised that it was only by five votes, but that’s the way it goes,” Jones said.

Jones, who formerly served on the board, won in both the New Canton and Georgia Creek precincts.

Matthews wins District Three

Republican candidate D.R. “Don” Matthews Jr. won the District Three seat on the board of supervisors by only 28 votes, defeating independent candidate Charles R. “Chuck” Meek.

Matthews garnered 255 votes, or about 52 percent, to Meek’s 227 votes, or about 47 percent.

D.R. "Don" Matthews

D.R. “Don” Matthews

Meek won in the New Store precinct while Matthews took the Curdsville precinct.

The open seat was left with no incumbent after independent E.A. “Bill” Talbert announced that he wouldn’t seek re-election.

Bryant takes District Five

Harry W. Bryant easily defeated Republican opponent Quentin L. Yoder in the race for the District Five seat on the board of supervisors with 60 percent of the vote.

The independent candidate received 211 votes compared to Yoder’s 88.

Harry Bryant Jr.

Harry Bryant Jr.

Bryant won in both the Wrights and Glenmore precincts.

Gowin retains school board seat

District Four School Board Representative Russell P. “Pete” Gowin won re-election to the Buckingham School Board, defeating challenger Joii West Goodman by 41 votes.

The independent incumbent received about 54 percent of the vote, compared to Goodman’s 46 percent.

Newton wins write in for District One

Jackie Newton garnered a majority of the write in votes for the District One School Board seat in Buckingham County.

No names appeared on the ballot in the race, which was left vacant by David Christian, who didn’t seek re-election.

According to Buckingham Voter Registrar Margaret Thomas, Newton received 198 write in votes, while Ramona Christian received 175.

According to the state board of elections website, 380 write in votes were cast.

Town of Dillwyn

With the re-election of Dillwyn Mayor Linda Venable Paige and council members Karen Sue Moss and Tora LaTonya Jones, four open seats were left for grabs on the Dillwyn Town Council.

According to Thomas, Ossie Harris III received two write in votes, Sandra Moss received two, Bill Lewis Moss received one, Ada Garrett received one, Wayne Myers Jr. received one, Sharon Baker received one and Carolyn Davis received one.

“They haven’t been filled,” Thomas said of the four open seats being filled despite the write ins. She said the electoral board would need to ask the individuals in a designated order if they were willing to serve before being declared the winner. 

Election results are unofficial until certified by the county’s electoral board.