Farm Bureau AgPAC endorses candidates

Published 12:05 pm Tuesday, August 25, 2015

RICHMOND — AgPAC, the political action committee of Virginia Farm Bureau Federation (VFBF), has endorsed four candidates for the Virginia Senate and House of Delegates in The Herald’s coverage area.

State Senator Thomas A. Garrett Jr. (R-22) and House Members Matt Fariss (R-59), James Edmunds (R-60) and Thomas C. Wright Jr. (R-61), all picked up the endorsements, which are  based on the recommendations of local committees of farmers, according to a Farm Bureau Federation press release.

Candidates who receive VFBF AgPAC endorsements “have demonstrated a clear understanding of the needs and challenges farmers are facing and/or have proven their support through their favorable voting records while holding positions in the General Assembly,” said Wayne F. Pryor, chairman of VFBF AgPAC and president of Virginia Farm Bureau. “We believe the endorsed candidates will help agriculture and forestry maintain its vitality as the number one industry in Virginia.”

Email newsletter signup

The endorsed candidates are all seeking reelection in November. Only Del. Wright has opposition.