Five Candidates

Published 4:45 pm Tuesday, October 16, 2012

PRINCE EDWARD – And now there are five.

Friday, October 12 was the deadline for candidates to file for the December 11 special election for County Treasurer. Prince Edward Voter Registrar Dale Bolt confirmed five candidates will be on the ballot: Democrat Donna Bowman Nunnally, Republican H. D. “Brock” Robinson Jr., and Independents Ben R. Murdock, Taikein M. Cooper, R. Marshall Womack Jr.

Republicans met in a mass meeting to select their candidate October 6; Democrats held a caucus October 2.

Email newsletter signup

Each of the five candidates for the position is seeking to serve the remaining three years of retiring County Treasurer Mable Shanaberger. Elected last November, she plans to serve through the end of the calendar year.