Heart Of Virginia Soccer Club Grateful

Published 3:50 pm Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Editor, The Herald:

As president of Heart of Virginia Soccer Club, I want to thank those in the community who have supported the efforts of our organization. Since the club moved to Farmville a couple of years ago, the organization has truly blossomed. We are pleased that we can provide a high level soccer experience for those boys and girls in the region who exhibit commitment, talent, and love of the game. We are equally excited about the future prospects for growth. However, it takes many volunteers for an organization of this size to function, and on behalf of the board I wish to express my gratitude to everyone who has played a role in Heart of Virginia Soccer's success.

I also want to congratulate the many players who received distinctions for their high school performances this year. We had a total of 18 former and current members representing eight counties receive district honors in their respective high school leagues. Six Heart of Virginia Club players were named to the James River District 1st Team: Russell Taylor (Buckingham), Jeffrey Lilljedahl (Amelia), Mikey Amos (Buckingham), Duke Berrios (Central Lunenburg), Cody Dail (Randolph Henry), and Jason Conway (Buckingham). Five players were named to the James River District 2nd Team: John Brandt (Cumberland), Shawn Webb (Amelia), Leroy Vincent (Buckingham), Bobby Dandridge (Buckingham), and Reed Morris (Randolph Henry). Andrea Ortega (Nottoway) was named to the Southside District All District Girls 1st Team and Taylor Reinson (Prince Edward) was named to the Southside District All District Girls 2nd Team. Three players were named to the Southside District All District Boys 1st Team: Anthony Polakiewicz (Parkview), Tevin Jones (Prince Edward), and Cainan Townsend (Prince Edward). Alan Williams (Prince Edward) and Peter Carter (Prince Edward) were named to Southside District All District Boys 2nd Team. Bryan Allen (Prince Edward) received an honorable mention. In addition, Russell Taylor was named Player of the Year for the James River District. Cainan Townsend was named to the Region 1 All-Region 2nd Team. Tevin Jones was given an honorable mention for all-region. The club congratulates all honorees.

Bob Burke

President, Heart of Virginia Soccer